Obedience is more valuable

Published on by Joy Odom

I participated in a corporate fast, with my church, this past January.  I didn't know exactly what was required for a fast but I knew the basics.  I gave up caffine, meats, bread - basically, we just ate foods that were not processed and had no additives in them.

My hope was that I would find out what God's purpose for me is.  I don't mean that I do not know what He has called me to do.  I just need direction, so my prayer was simply to live everyday with a purpose for God. To live ON PURPOSE for God!

I have got to admit, I was pretty bad at the fast, as far as food goes.  At least now I keep more fresh foods in the house and I am more aware of what my husband and I are eating.  But I wasn't as concerned with the physical part of the fast as much as I was the spiritual part of the fast. 

Putting others first, seeking God in all I do - that's part of the spiritual journey.

While I was trying to focus on "a proper fast" I found situations were already at work..........

  1. someone very close to me was in a battle, losing a dear loved one
  2. my "job" was pressuring me to choose money ABOVE ALL
  3. my business was being left unattended
  4. my husband was left to deal with my daily responsibilities and his at home
  5. I missed my church, especially worship and preaching

When I chose #1 - which was to be there for that person, that is when 2,3, 4 and 5 happended. 

 

I made a conscience decision to care!

GREEK
Strong's Concordance
merimna: care, anxiety

Original Word: μέριμνα, ης, ἡ
Part of Speech: Noun, Feminine
Transliteration: merimna
Phonetic Spelling: (mer'-im-nah)
Short Definition: care, worry, anxiety
Definition: care, worry, anxiety

HEBREW
Strong's Concordance
deagah: anxiety, anxious care

Original Word: דְּאָגָה
Part of Speech: Noun Feminine
Transliteration: deagah
Phonetic Spelling: (deh-aw-gaw')
Short Definition: anxiety

Full definition of CARE from Merriam Webster's dictionary

1. Suffering of mind: grief

2. (a) A disquited state of mixed uncertainty, apprehension, and responsibility (b) a cause of such anxiety

3. (a) Painstaking or watchful attention (b) maintance - floor products

4. regard coming from desire or esteem

5. Charge or supervision (under a doctor's care)

6. a person or thing that is an object of attention, anxiety or solicitude

ESV from www.openbibleinfo.com

"But if anyone has the world's goods and sees his brother in need, yet closes his heart against him, how does God's love abide in him? Little children, let us not love in word or talk but in deed and in truth."

Yeah, that about covers it!  I asked for God's purpose in my life and he wrote it in my heart all along. 

It isn't easy but what is right is not easy in a world that isn't about righteousness!!  I've discovered some awesomely wonderful things, though.  I've heard friends that I have ministered to, who minister to others using some little nuggest of information that I've offered them!  Talk about planting seeds, WOW :-)

That "job" was merely a means to quiet my own state of anxiety, once realized it held not more power over me.

I found confidence to hire an employee - a wonderful person who is as passionate as I am!!!

My husband survived and we are still together, hahaha!

My first day back at my church in over two months?!!  Wow, worship was fantastic - I always feel His presence there with the worship team and my Pastor brings God's word to life!  I need it!

I've have a memory of a beautiful woman, I got to hold her hand and kiss her forehead and tell her it's ok to move on - and in doing those things, I kept my promise to her!  What a gift.

I challenge anyone reading this now, be a JOY to someone - what you get in return will not be visiable to anyone else but we don't store our treasure's on earth, do we?

 

J - Jesus first

      O - Others second

  Y - Yourself last

Lord, I choose obedience to you in all things!  AMEN

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post