A prayer for love

Published on by Joy Odom

It's warfare from the start, when you choose Christ! If you choose not to follow Him, you aren't really tempted, you do what you want, what you feel and then you explain or reason with yourself that you are right in your decision.

This is why some Christians get so twisted, they believe that everyone is to believe and behave just as they do. Not so! God gave us each, our own measure of faith for His purpose - not for worldly judgement.

A great example is a friend of mine, Gloria. She has had many struggles, battles, victories and loss's. We were discussing some obstacles in our lives, and it sounded very clear what her options should be but we don't always understand what God is doing or even "why" God is doing some things. But that is faith, you trust Him. You trust Him because you know, whatever God is doing - it will be better that you could possibly imagine!

If Gloria listened to people, she would be in limbo - but she didn't! Praise God, He blesses her in so many ways today! Perhaps one day she'll share some stories :-)

War can make you despondent, bitter, depressed and can turn your attention to things that just are not beneficial to you or to God's kingdom.

Fortunately for us all, other people have gone through the same things that we are going through. Maybe we can learn from there mistakes.

While reading 1 Corinthians chapter 13, it becomes a heart felt prayer!

Dear Heavenly Father,

You give the gifts of tongues - speaking as angels, Father, I ask for the gift of love so that I do not sound brass or like a clanging cymbal.

Father, You give the gift of prophecy and understanding of all mysteries and all knowledge. And though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains but do not have Christ in my heart - I am worthless! I pray for Your love to abide in my heart!

Father, all that I have is Yours - I'll gladly give all I have to the poor and give my body to be burned, Father; I pray for love, because without it nothing is profitable!

Father, You are long suffering, kind, not envious or arrogant - Lord, I want to be more like You!

You, Father, do not behave rudely or seek your own or provoked and You think no evil!

Father, You do not rejoice in iniquity but rejoice in truth; Heavenly Father, if You abide in me - I know that I can bear all things, believe all things and hope for all things and endure all things.

Father, You never fail!

But whether there are prophecies - they fail

Whether there are tongues - they will cease

Whether there is knowledge - it will vanish away!

For knowing and prophesy is not complete but temporary. You, Father, are eternal and complete! For You Lord, when You come, nothing else shall matter!!!!

When I was a new believer in You Lord, I spoke like a child does - I understood as a child would - I thought as a child thinks; but as I mature through You Father - I put away childish ideas.

Before, Father, I saw myself dimly in the mirror and then clearly, as if face to face. And now, Father, I know - in part - but in Your glory, I will know just as I am known. Because You first loved me, I can now abide faith, hope, love - these three; but the greatest of these is shown in Your love for me - CHRIST!

Thank you, Father, for Your love

AMEN

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post