How does God see me?

Published on by Joy Odom

I've asked myself this question for so many years.

The reason that I ask the question may be for the same reason that anyone would want to know if someone thinks their cool, pretty, smart or whatever you hope you are.

The question comes after I feel that I have been mistreated, in some way.

I ask because there are times when other people or circumstances arise that are sure to make you believe that you don't matter. I believe that we are tested, when we choose to follow Christ there seems to be an inner struggle that is striving to come out - a fight or flight type of emotion.

I have to say, being a good Christian is not always saying "yes" and always putting "everyone" first! I confuse my own moral values with my christian values and sometimes leads me to question God's purpose in my life, for no good reason.

So, what is the difference between my moral values and my christian values? That should be in line with one another, don't you think?

Moral Values: according to ask.com, - Moral values refer to a set of principles that guide an individual on how to evaluate right versus wrong.

But, my confusion comes more from the character values: Society, in general, confuses the meaning of ethics with moral values, states Navran Associates. Ethics refer to a set of standards of behavior expected by a group of people to which an individual is a member, while moral values stresses on a person's moral code.

An example of my internal conflict is described below:

  1. If I make time for a friend, I can expect the same in return
  • Luke 6:31 - Treat others the way you want to be treated

- 1 Corinthians 11:10,11: "For this reason (woman was created by God for man) the woman ought to have a symbol of authority on her head, because of the angels. Nevertheless, neither is man independent of woman, nor is woman independent of man, in the Lord.

I am paraphrasing, Since I am married - my husband is my covering. Because he is a creation of God, my husband was created to be my symbol of authority, woman being made from man - man being made in God's image. I put God first, husband second, family third and friends after that.

2. A strong need to defend myself when people lie

  • Genesis 3:4 And the serpent said to the woman, You shall not surely die:

    Leviticus 19:11 You shall not steal, neither deal falsely, neither lie one to another.

    Psalms 119:163 I hate and abhor lying: but your law do I love.

    Proverbs 12:22 Lying lips are abomination to the LORD: but they that deal truly are his delight.

    Proverbs 13:5 A righteous man hates lying: but a wicked man is loathsome, and comes to shame.

    Proverbs 14:5 A faithful witness will not lie: but a false witness will utter lies.

    Proverbs 17:7 Excellent speech becomes not a fool: much less do lying lips a prince.

    Hosea 11:12 Ephraim compasses me about with lies, and the house of Israel with deceit: but Judah yet rules with God, and is faithful with the saints.

    Zephaniah 3:13 The remnant of Israel shall not do iniquity, nor speak lies; neither shall a deceitful tongue be found in their mouth: for they shall feed and lie down, and none shall make them afraid.

    John 8:44 You are of your father the devil, and the lusts of your father you will do. He was a murderer from the beginning, and stayed not in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he speaks a lie, he speaks of his own: for he is a liar, and the father of it.

    Acts 5:3 But Peter said, Ananias, why has Satan filled your heart to lie to the Holy Ghost, and to keep back part of the price of the land?

    Ephesians 4:29 Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace to the hearers.

    Colossians 3:9 Lie not one to another, seeing that you have put off the old man with his deeds;

    1 Timothy 4:2 Speaking lies in hypocrisy; having their conscience seared with a hot iron;

    James 3:1 My brothers, be not many masters, knowing that we shall receive the greater condemnation.

    Revelation 22:15 For without are dogs, and sorcerers, and fornicators, and murderers, and idolaters, and whoever loves and makes a lie.

- Those who know me, know they are lies; those who listen to the lies are gossipers; those who believe the lies were never a friend anyway.

My hope is simple: to see myself the same way God sees me. He knows every deed and/or thought. He knows who I was yesterday, who I am today and what He created me to be tomorrow! He still loves me, He forgives me, He chooses me as His child.

The secret - believe the ones that God has put in your life to build you up! Chose to live to glorify God, follow the example of Jesus!

Published on feeling inadequte

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post