When prayer seems like an obligation to fulfill

Published on by Joy Odom

At least I told you in the beginning that I am not perfect, why should I pretend to me? I strive daily for perfection but here I am.

I have my quite time of devotion, scripture and prayer. At times it can a chore just to get to the quite time. The house needs cleaning, laundry is piling up, dishes in the sink, lunches to be made and on and on it goes.

For this very reason, I keep a journal with my bible - always. When I can not find the words to pray or I am "not feeling it right now" I write.

For me, writing is a form of purging - it's a release for me. I am always amazed by what my hand has said about me!

Putting words to paper, it makes it more intimate to communicate between me and my Heavenly Father. Passing notes back and forth makes it seem a little more real.

Writing also breaks that feeling of monotony - what? Am I really the only one who realizes that I have recited the same prayer over and over!? That isn't what He wants from His children, He wants a real relationship and that means being honest. And why wouldn't you be honest, since He has counted every hair on our heads, named us - that's right! He named us all, and created us - don't you think he knows what's in our hearts, what is in our minds and what we feel?

Maybe it scares you to think of Him in that way, it scared me at first. But now, I am so very grateful to be honest, to be open and raw and real with someone who knows me AND He still loves me in-spite of it all!!

God does want us to come to Him freely and openly and even boldly! How do you approach your earthly father?

Ephesians 3:11-13- Paul reveals the mystery of the gospel like this; taken from Biblehub.com

11. This was in accordance with the eternal purpose which He carried out in Christ Jesus our Lord,

12. in whom we have boldness and confident access through faith in Him.

13. Therefore I ask you not to lose heart at my tribulations on your behalf, for they are your glory.

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post